Great performers, great composers, greatness all around!

22 Oct

The Dodos:

Great performers, great composers, greatness all around!

Great performers, great composers, greatness all around!

The Dodo’s released their sixth album, Carrier in August. The Dodo’s never disappoint and although this album has a darker, more ambient sound to it than their previous albums, I had it on repeat for a couple of weeks. This has been the case with every Dodo’s album I’ve listened to, I’m a fan.  This is the first time I’ve seen the Dodos live and I couldn’t be happier with the experience. The Dodos are incredibly engaging with their audience, their live performance was as good if not better than their recordings and at the end of the show, I got to geek out and talk with them. The nice thing about being a fan of musicians that play in small venues is that you get opportunities to meet your idols.

What turned out to be especially exciting is that Meric Long, the lead singer of The Dodos is totally into cooking! There was another girl talking to him and she actually gave him a cookbook the last time The Dodos were touring in Canada. After hearing this I immediately launched into telling Meric my Starving Musician’s Kitchen idea (which is a secret until I decide to write a post about it…). This led to Meric telling me about his favourite chicken recipe. It turns out Meric used to work in restaurants in San Francisco before going into the music industry!  I’m still waiting for a facebook message with a chicken recipe, but I’ll survive if it never comes, the experience in itself was all I needed!

In addition to finally seeing The Dodos live, I also met Joe Haege, the lead singer from 31knots. Joe has been touring with The Dodos playing the guitar and he recently released a solo album under the name Vin Blanc/ White Wine called “In Every way but One.” A quick Joe Haege google search reveals that he is “the creepiest guy in Portland…” and I have to admit, “In Every Way but One” reinforces this idea, but also shows that Joe Haege has some serious talent. I’m thoroughly enjoying this album and I highly recommend checking it out! Click here to read my post, which likens Joe’s album to celery.

Here’s a Dodos video for a song off their latest album. Do you like it? Yes? Awesome, buy an album!

Leave a Reply

We Try Too Hard

A Canadian Coming-of-Age

The World of my Green Heart

A Literary Lifestyle Blog by Janille N G ~ Girl with a Green Heart

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Because Hobbies Happen

The Life of a Hobby Horse

Hidden Reads - Self-Published gems!

Find your next amazing read that you never knew existed.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

The Spectatorial

University of Toronto's One & Only Genre Journal

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

Deliciously Elegant

Healthy Plant Based Recipes

the amused bouche

real food · farm life · wanderlust adventures | santa barbara, california

Hart House Literary Contests

TIRED OF BEING A STRUGGLING ARTIST?

Finding Myself

discovering the one who loves me infinitely, through my struggle with chronic pain

NeuroNotes

NeuroResearchProject.com -- It's about the brain. It's about the environment. It's about being human.

